Yes, I’m a girl!

Just saw this message doing rounds on facebook and couldn’t help but write my own! 

“Yes, I’m a girl. I push doors that clearly say PULL… I laugh harder when I try to explain why I’m laughing… I walk into a room and forget why I was there… I count on my fingers in math class…I lie sometimes to hide the pain… I say it is a long story when it’s really not… I cry a lot more than you think I do… I get attached to people who care even a little about me… A broken nail is as painful as a broken heart… Yes, I’m a girl!!!!! Re-post if you’re proud to be one!!”

Well, you’re right! I am a girl, not a clod. I do read signs on doors. I enjoy to the fullest when uncontrollable laughter takes control of me! I do not forget why I entered a room unless someone really special is hiding in there, like Roger Federer or Spiderman may be! I am not a huge fan of math but fared well through out school only because I made an effort. I don’t lie when I am in pain..rather I tend to be quiet and open up only to dear ones; I don’t say its a long story when it’s really not, I go ahead and speak my mind if the person is worth it. I don’t think I care about what you think about my crying..when I am upset, tears roll out! I only get attached to people who care “a lot” about me, not “little”..it takes a while to figure out though! I try to keep my nails short because I dislike it any other way; I can cure my broken heart..cause someone who breaks it, is not worth my love! Yes, I am proud to be a girl, I do not consider myself a part of the rat race, I believe in my ideas, my traditions, my love and most importantly, I do not give in to stereotypes! If you are proud to be one, you should come up with your own message..cause each one of us are special in our own ways! Celebrate womanhood 🙂

11 thoughts on “Yes, I’m a girl!

  1. Well said. As a husband and father of a daughter, I wanted to commend how you ably stated who you are in contrast to a pretty ridiculous stereotype. Nice job.

  2. I’m visiting from Kana’s Notebook. I love the approach you took in this. Sometimes it’s hard to challenge stereotypes without simply criticizing. Criticizing has its place and all but what you did here was much more interesting. Thanks for sharing.

Share your thoughts

