Love till the end?

I read an article where a caller on the show, 700 Club, asked Pat Robertson what her reply should be to a friend who had begun dating other women as his wife succumbed to Alzheimer’s. His response was: I know it sounds cruel. But if he’s going to do something, he should divorce her and start all over again, but to make sure she has custodial care, somebody looking after her. 

His words struck a deep chord within me. What exactly did he mean? Love her till she is beautiful, attractive, caring and shrug her off your shoulders when ‘support’ is what she truly requires? Love your husband when he is young and handsome but let go of him at a critical time in life? Why do we even celebrate marriage and exchange vows of being together forever when nothing really matters at the end? Will everything not end eventually? I think the word “commitment” is just losing its essence. The “Me’s and I’s” have taken over the world. There’s hardly any room for “We and Us”!

I agree it is very difficult to go through life when your dearest one is suffering a disease that only a miracle could completely cure. But is the triumph of friendship and love limited to the happy times only? Does your spouse or relative not deserve more care and attention for the sake of all the happiness and joyful moments that you’ve shared for so many years? No one wishes for such traumatic endings..it’s a situation we are placed in. We have no choice.. so why seclude someone for no fault of his own?

Each one of us are time bound..we know that sooner or later it’s all going to be over. So, why not do our utmost to make that ending more comfortable for a loved one. However hard it may be, let us embrace them. Do not deprecate the power of a kind touch, a heartfelt smile, a listening ear and an honest hug. If not for the sake of love, how about doing it for the sake of good old friendship?

Quoting Ralph Emerson, “The glory of friendship is not the outstretched hand, nor the kindly smile nor the joy of companionship; it is the spiritual inspiration that comes to one when he discovers that someone else believes in him and is willing to trust him.”

9 thoughts on “Love till the end?

  1. “Each one of us are time bound..we know that sooner or later it’s all going to be over”… So True! Such an inspirational post. Love the quote, thanks for sharing it.

    🙂

  2. Oh, I have read backward to this point and have enjoyed so much.
    I noticed in the response from Robertson, there was an “if”. Perhaps he meant that instead of sneaking around, the guy should face what he is doing by divorcing, you know, doing it legally. In fact, that would be a good legal way to make sure the woman received good care.
    Perhaps, as a friend, if the woman told the man he at LEAST ought to be honest and get the divorce, he could see what a cruel thing he was doing?
    Just thinking.
    Thanks for the “like” at my site.

  3. First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog. Feels wonderful to read your comments. Regarding this particular one, i understand what you are saying. I guess i just wanted to point out how ironic it is that illness causes closest ones to distance from us..

    • It surely can! I hope I never have to realize such a sad thing about my close ones. I have suffered lots and am in the midst of more, but so far, my close ones circle the wagons for me. What a gift! I should be more thankful in that area!

  4. Me scared again. It goes to show how marriage can easily turn into, like, a way of life as oppose to human feelings. Things become requirements, keeping the bond becomes a choir. I’m really laying everything to my girl, straight and honest, before we get into something. I really love my girl. I don’t want to turn things into materialistic form.

    • Here’s what i can share with you. Our relationships evolve with time. Just trust your partner and promise to be by her side, come what may. Love and trust in each other can take us a long way..just have faith and learn to hold on during tough times.

Share your thoughts

