The lingering scent..

 Visual Prompt 2 — Title Unknown, Diane Arbus

I saw you again that evening. This time our eyes met. I could not let go of the urge and attraction that I felt when we glanced at each other. Something about those few seconds was special.

My heart quietly wished that you approach me for a dance before the night ends. I finished dinner and the good-byes.  I grazed past you and the scent of your cologne captivated me. I felt incomplete to leave – but I had to.

Basked in your fragrance, I stepped out of the banquet hall and walked down the staircase to reach the exit hallway. Engrossed in your thoughts, the purse string slipped through my fingers and fell on the floor. I stooped to pick it up and instead of my purse, a pair of shiny leather shoes awaited me.

I instantly looked up. Your bright blue eyes looked straight into mine. I felt you could see through my soul! Mesmerized by your charm, I was at a complete loss of words – I could not even utter a courteous ‘thank you’.  As I hastily took the purse from your hand, you continued to follow every move of mine. I wanted to run away – I turned back cursing myself for not being able to say anything to you.

Your strong arms wrapped around me from behind. I felt this touch was all I ever waited for. You drew me close and held me tight. Your warm breath kissed my neck. My heart raced and I was almost short of breath! I could not stop smiling. My imagination made me feel embarrassed, I blushed. I could not even look at you. The smell of your cologne lingered in the air and made me feel complete.

___________________________________________________________________________

This was another attempt to write a story based on a picture prompt. Hope you enjoyed! Beautiful image prompts can be found on Indigo Spiders blog.. which you can read here. Thank you for stopping by!

11 thoughts on “The lingering scent..

  1. Pingback: Sunday Picture Press: Second Chance » Indigo Spider

Share your thoughts

